Veterinary students receive scholarships from Zoetis and American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges

MANHATTAN — Eight students in Kansas State University’s College of Veterinary Medicine have been chosen to receive the 2023 Zoetis Foundation/AAVMC Veterinary Student Scholarship.

The scholarship program is sponsored by Zoetis, a global animal health company, in partnership with the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges. In its thirteenth year, the program awarded $7,000 scholarships to 263 second- and third-year veterinary students representing 36 colleges of veterinary medicine throughout the U.S. and the Caribbean.

In addition to the traditional selection criteria of academic excellence and financial need, the scholarships focus on meeting ongoing needs of the veterinary profession — diversity, sustainability and mixed/rural medicine practices. Scholarships are awarded to students in all areas of professional interest, including food animal medicine, small animal clinical medicine, research, government services, public health and organized veterinary medicine.

“This award will be monumental in my continued education,” said Cayley Conrad, second-year veterinary student, Joplin, Missouri. “It will support my travel to South Dakota for a summer externship with the Rural Area Veterinary Service program. My externship will provide wellness care and spay/neuter services for pets with lower-income families living on tribal reservations. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity and support from Zoetis.”

Second-year veterinary student Sierra Shelit, Pine Bluffs, Wyoming, said, “This scholarship lightens my financial load of veterinary school as an out-of-state student, allowing me to focus solely on becoming the best veterinarian possible during the remainder of my education to one day better serve my community and the agriculture industry.”

Along with Conrad and Shelit, the following Kansas State University veterinary students are Zoetis scholarship recipients:

Valerie Haskett, third year, Agra; and Traniesh Byrd, second year, Salina.

From out of state: Sonia Moreno, second year, Santa Ana, California; Melissa Hill, third year, Manchester, Connecticut; Dawson Black, third year, Solen, North Dakota, Catherine Rojas, second year, Houston, Texas.


Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional