K-State awards Kassebaum Scholarships to four high school seniors

MANHATTAN — Kansas State University has awarded Kassebaum Scholarships to four high school seniors.

The scholarship competition was conducted earlier this semester. K-State received a significant number of applications, and a selection committee chose 10 student finalists to interview for the Kassebaum Scholarship. Of those interviewed, Thaddaeus Blakley, Hutchinson, a senior at Hutchinson Senior High School; Caitlin Sand, Lawrence, a senior at Lawrence High School; Andrew Le, Wichita, a senior at Wichita High School Southeast; and Thaddeus Bergschneider, Franklin, Illinois, a senior at Franklin High School, were chosen to receive the $5,000 scholarship.

Named in honor of former Kansas Sen. Nancy Kassebaum-Baker, the Kassebaum Scholarship recognizes students whose academic and extracurricular achievements reflect the potential for and desire to make a difference through energetic leadership in the public service arena.

The Kassebaum Scholarship has been awarded to 140 students since its inception in 2001. K-State is a leader among public universities in Truman, Goldwater and Udall scholars. Often recipients of these prestigious scholarships come from the Kassebaum Scholarship program.

Students will be engaged in enrichment and professional development opportunities to enhance their K-State experience as a result of collaborations between Scholar Services in the Academic Achievement Center and the Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships. Students will develop an individualized plan to meet their academic and professional aspirations.

Finalists for Kansas State University’s Kassebaum Scholarship include the following high school seniors:

Meredith Russell, Goddard, a senior at Eisenhower High School; Lakin Giager, Parsons, a senior at Labette County High School; and Kaley Wagner, Smith Center, a senior at Smith Center Junior-Senior High School.

From out of state: Abigail Bartusek, New Prague, Minnesota, a senior at New Prague High School; Landry O’Bryan, St. Joseph, Missouri, a senior at Central High School; and Logan Dixon, Brownville, Nebraska, a senior at Auburn High School. 

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional