KDHE Announces Recipients of Waste Tire Product Grants

Topeka, Ks– The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) Bureau of Waste Management has announced the recipients of waste tire product grants. These annual waste tire grants are awarded to local municipalities and public and private schools K-12 across the state. The grants totaled $436,172.81 and were awarded to 28 organizations to fund projects that include the use of recycled tire products, including playground surfacing and picnic tables. The grants are funded by revenue collected through the tire excise tax, a $0.25/vehicle tire fee.


  • Cherokee County K-State Research and Extension, Cherokee County
  • City of Burden, Cowley County
  • City of Dighton, Lane County
  • City of Fort Scott, Bourbon County
  • City of Garnett, Anderson County
  • City of Geneseo, Rice County
  • City of Grenola, Elk County
  • City of Harveyville, Wabaunsee County
  • City of Herington, Dickinson County
  • City of Lebanon, Smith County
  • City of Williamsburg, Franklin County
  • Holy Trinity School, Miami County
  • Kansas State School for the Deaf, Johnson County
  • Manhattan Catholic Schools, Riley County
  • Marshall Middle School, Sedgwick County
  • Sacred Heart Elementary, Thomas County
  • Sedgwick County
  • Sedgwick County Extension Education Foundation, Inc., Sedgwick County
  • USD 257 Iola, Allen County
  • USD 274 Oakley Elementary, Logan County
  • USD 289 Wellsville, Franklin County
  • USD 308 Graber Elementary, Reno County
  • USD 311 Pretty Prairie, Reno County
  • USD 367 Sport & Fitness – Ozone, Miami County
  • USD 430 Everest Middle School, Miami County
  • USD 463 Udall Elementary, Cowley County
  • USD 493 Park Elementary, Cherokee County
  • West Elementary School, Sedgwick County

Please visit our website for information about their projects and dollar amounts awarded. https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/700/Waste-Reduction-Public-Education-Grants.

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional