Agreement Expands Housing Assistance Available in Morris County

Manhattan, KS- The North Central-Flint Hills Area Agency on Aging (NC-FH AAA) and the East Central Kansas Economic Opportunity Corporation (ECKAN) announced today that more housing assistance options are now available in Morris County.
The two non-profit groups signed an agreement that means that income-eligible renters in Morris County have opportunities to apply for Tenant-Based Rental Assistance (TBRA) funds.  These funds help eligible households with security and utility deposits at the time of moving.
The agreement also means that HUD Housing Choice Vouchers for income qualified people will be available from both ECKAN and the NC-FH AAA.  Those participating in this HUD program have a portion of their rent paid to their landlords. The amount of rent paid is based on household size and household income.
“We are delighted to work with ECKAN on housing initiatives aimed to help more people with their housing payments to landlords and to utility companies,” said Julie Govert Walter, NC-FH AAA Executive Director.  “We are very happy about this initiative that expands the availability of housing assistance to people of all ages in Morris County.”
Individuals over age 18 with adjusted total annual incomes below $22,800 and two-person households with total adjusted income below $26,050 may qualify and are encouraged to apply for TBRA. Copies of the application and income limit information for households with more than two people is available online at or by calling NC-FH AAA at 1-800-432-2703 or ECKAN at 1-866-242-7450.  Applications are considered on a first-come-first serve basis.
Funding for TBRA comes from the federal HOME Investment Partnerships Program administered by
Kansas Housing Resources Corporation (KHRC).
For information about TBRA please call NC-FH AAA at 1-800-432-2703 or ECKAN at 1-866-242-7450.  Applications are available online at

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional