12 Kansas Communities Receive Grants to Advance safe Routes to School Program

By Trish Svoboda

The Kansas Department of Transportation announced that 12 communities in Kansas will receive funds to create plans and provide assistance to advance the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) Program in their areas.

This is the first year applications have been accepted for two categories of SRTS Planning and Programming grants. The cities receiving Planning Grants are Belle Plaine, Emporia, Holton, Parsons, and Rossville. Programming, or Kick Start Grants were allocated to Dighton, Johnson City, Mission, Moundridge, Saint George, Topeka, and Wichita.

The Planning grants will aid in developing SRTS plans, to study existing conditions, conducting public outreach, and identifying potential infrastructure and non-infrastructure solutions. Kick Start grants, on the other hand, are designed to provide initial support for programs, events, and projects, setting the foundation for future program development.

The SRTS Program is a nationwide initiative promoting walking and bicycling to school through improvements in infrastructure, enforcement, tools, and safety education.

More information about the SRTS grant program can be found at https://www.kansassrts.org/grants-and-funding

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional