Cloud County Track Student-Athletes Earn USTFCCCA Track & Field Academic Awards

Written by Cloud County Community College Sports Information Director, Matt Kinney

NEW ORLEANS, La. – In the inaugural release of the United States Track And Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Academic Awards, 23 Cloud County Community College track and field student-athletes have been named USTFCCCA All-Academic Athletes for their work in the classroom.

In addition to the 23 student-athletes, the T-Bird women’s track and field team would be named one of 14 NJCAA women’s programs to be named a USTFCCCA Women’s Track & Field All-Academic Team, an award given to teams with a cumulative team GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale with a minimum of 10 student-athletes on the team to account for the cumulative GPA.

Highlighting the 23 individual student-athletes to earn All-Academic Athlete status would be the 2023 NJCAA Division I Women’s Outdoor Track & Field National Scholar Track Athlete of the Year Miracle Thompson who maintained a term GPA of 4.0 and won the 100-meter hurdles at the 2023 NJCAA DI Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Of the remaining 22 CCCC student-athletes to earn All-Academic status, 11 men’s student-athletes and 11 women’s student-athletes would meet the requirements of a minimum 3.40 GPA on a 4.0 scale during the semester of competition that occurs in full or part after January 1 of the track and field season. A full list of Cloud County student-athletes to earn the award and their major field of study is listed below.

Men’s Student-Athletes
Hassan Abidi – Interdisciplinary Studies
Alphonse Igish – Interdisciplinary Studies
Hemon Joseph – Interdisciplinary Studies
Leroy Kamau – Business
Davis Mick – Education
Siyabonga Mokgothu – Business
Awakhiwe Ndlovu – Health & Human Performance
Ben Okraska – Nursing Allied Health
Arne Roehl – Communications
Shadrick Tansi – Interdisciplinary Studies
Paul Tasset – Business
Vincent Ugwoke – Science

Women’s Student-Athletes
Mallory Callihan – Health & Human Performance
Passion Crews – Interdisciplinary Studies
Vimbayi Maisvorewa – Health & Human Performance
Mia Manley – Health & Human Performance
Nikola Prochazkova – Business
Emmy Punches – Business
Jasmine Sakaguchi – Humanities & Fine Arts
Hailey Sharp – Health & Human Performance
Mariem Soltani – Health & Human Performance
Miracle Thompson – Health & Human Performance
Tahisha Thompson – Health & Human Performance

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional