Mahomes and Rice Earn Chiefs’ Team Awards

By Jayson Henderson

The Kansas City Chiefs unveiled their annual team awards, with quarterback Patrick Mahomes and wide receiver Rashee Rice receiving recognition for their standout performances in the 2023 season. Mahomes was honored with the “Derrick Thomas Award” for the third time, acknowledging his valuable contributions as the team’s most valuable player. Meanwhile, Rice received the “Mack Lee Hill Award,” reserved for the top rookie or first-year player, highlighting his impressive debut season. Mahomes threw for 4,183 yards and 27 touchdowns, leading the Chiefs to a remarkable postseason run and a second consecutive world championship. Rice’s stellar performance included 79 receptions for 938 yards and seven touchdowns, along with a record-setting 26 postseason catches. These awards, voted on by the players, reflect the team’s appreciation for Mahomes and Rice’s significant impact throughout the year.

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional