High Banks Hall of Fame Names 2024 Inductees

By Ryan Duey

The High Banks Hall of Fame in Belleville has chosen their 2024 inductees to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame. Six inductees were nominated and will be enshrined on Saturday, August 3rd. This is the Hall of Fame’s 24th Class.

The six inductees include:

· John Allen of Chanute, KS. He won nine career races at the High Banks, the most all-time in the Modified ranks.

· Renn Allsman is a Belleville native who was one of the fastest Late Model racers of the 1970s.

· Mearl Holbrook who was active in PR work for different Racing Associations.

· Junior Parkinson of Wichita Falls, TX who learned to race from his Hall of Fame father Ralph Parkinson Jr.

· Rick Salem, founder of the United Rebel Sprint Series who has been sanctioning races at the High Banks since 2010.

· Pat Sullivan, a six-time Media Member of the Year has announced and written about nearly all forms of racing.

The induction ceremony will take place at the Belleville High School and is free to the public, a goodwill donation is requested.

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional