Lawyer Members Elected for District 12 and 21

By Ryan Duey

The clerk of the Kansas Supreme Court has disclosed the outcomes of elections for lawyer members in various judicial district nominating commissions. Each commission’s purpose is to nominate individuals for district judge positions and appoint district magistrate judges in districts following the nonpartisan selection method.

Recent elections, conducted by the Supreme Court Clerk, saw James Johnson, Bradley Steen, and Darrell Miller elected for the 12th Judicial District, with terms ending on March 6, 2028. The 12th Judicial District is comprised of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties.

In the 21st Judicial District, Summer Ott Dierks secured the position, also serving until March 6, 2028. Clay and Riley counties make up the 21st Judicial District. These appointments play a crucial role in maintaining the integrity and functionality of the judiciary within their respective districts.

Sign up for the KCLY Digital Newspaper, The Regional